Saturday, August 15, 2009

The Politics of Enery #12 - Leaders: China seeks friendly ties with Islamic countries

China would cement friendship and cooperation with the Islamic countries based on the Five Principles of Peaceful Co-existence, President Hu Jintao told visiting Abu Dhabi's Crown Prince Mohammed bin Zayedal-Nahayanon, Aug. 14, 2009.(Xinhua Photo)

The Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence (simplified Chinese: 和平共处五项原则; pinyin: hépíng gòngchǔ wǔxiàng yuánzé) or Panchsheel.

A series of agreements between the People's Republic of China and India. After the Central Government took control of Tibet, China came into increasing conflict with India. However, both nations were newly-established and interested in finding ways to avoid further conflict. Therefore in 1954 the two nations drew up the Five Principles of Peaceful Coexistence:

1. Mutual respect for each other's territorial integrity and sovereignty (互相尊重主权和领土完整)

2. Mutual non-aggression (互不侵犯)

3. Mutual non-interference in each other's internal affairs (互不干涉内政)

4. Equality and mutual benefit (平等互利)

5. Peaceful co-existence (和平共处)

Editors Note: The Sixth Principle of Peaceful Coexistence is, "Sell us your oil, please."

Balance of article: China Economic Net

No comments: